flag image

Bylaw Review Committee set to 'give back'

Will kick off yearlong rules review shortly

January 05, 2012
SOUTHBRIDGE — Residents can probably expect the new Bylaw Review Committee to take a hard look at trash rules when they get going, since two of the five members specifically cited them as being among their reasons for wanting to be on the panel.

The five — Leonard Laporte, Kevin Buxton, Susan Sharkey, Pam Skowyra and David Williams — were formally appointed just before Christmas, but have not yet had their first meeting. Under the charter, they have a year to complete their duty, which is primarily to examine the bylaws to make sure they don't conflict with each other and the charter itself.

All five have town government experience in some capacity, some of it extensive. Laporte is the town's retired fire chief. Buxton served on the Recycling Committee back in the 1990s and has been a frequent advocate for similar issues since. Sharkey, under her maiden name Congdon, served on the Board of Health a few years ago and has more recently been on the Education and Human Services subcommittee. Skowyra spent about 20 years on the West Brookfield Planning Board and four years as a selectman there. Williams is a current Board of Health member and teachers' union president.

For more on this story, please see tomorrow's Southbridge Evening News.

Stonebridge Press
inclusion image
inclusion image
Thanks for visiting Stonebridge Press and Villager Newspapers