flag image

Guzik Motors

School board shuffles positions, subcommittees

Woodruff named chairman, Prencipe is vice chairman

July 08, 2012
SOUTHBRIDGE — The new makeup of the School Committee became very apparent Tuesday, July 3, as the members elected Patricia Woodruff chairman and Mary Ellen Prencipe vice chairman.

In both cases, the four-vote majority preferred them over equally-veteran member Scott Lazo, who didn't attend. Lazo supporters Thomas O'Leary and Tanja Dominko, however, voted differently on each of them — both abstained on Woodruff but voted against Prencipe.

But the real change may be a cultural shift, represented more by how the committee now does business. Instead of simply approving the standing slate of subcommittees it has had for years, the panel added one (Communications/Family and Community Engagement), kept three, and deep-sixed one (Collective Bargaining).

For more on this story, please see tomorrow's Southbridge Evening News.

Dan Kenney
inclusion image
inclusion image
  • Health 2018
  • Home 2018
  • Meet 2018
Thanks for visiting Stonebridge Press and Villager Newspapers

Guzik Motors